End of navigation bar


Tuesday, 5th November 2019 at 7:30pm in the Eastgate Theatre

Yu Kosuge


Daquin “Le coucou” & “Les vents en courroux”
    From Premier Livre de Pièces de Clavecin
Couperin "Les petites moulins à vent"
    From Troisième Livre de Pièces de Clavecin
Rameau "Le Rappel des Oiseaux"
    From Deuxième Livre de Pièces de Clavecin
Janáček In the Mists
Beethoven Piano Sonata Op.31, No.2 (’Tempest’)
Debussy Selections from Preludes, Book I
Stravinsky Excerpts from "Firebird" (Piano version by Stravinsky)

Yu Kosuge has become one of the world's most noted young pianists. She appears at the most important venues around the world, with critics praising her "acutely poetic sensibility, wit, drama, and lyricism". In 2017, she won the prestigious Suntory Music Award, in recognition of her outstanding contribution to the development of Western music in Japan.

In her ongoing ‘Four Elements’ project, Yu Kosuge explores how Water, Wind, Fire and Earth, in her words, “inspired composers' imaginations to create not only images or impressions but also works with profound metaphoric messages”.

The programme she has chosen for us combines two of the elements, Wind and Fire, the latter represented by Stravinsky’s own stunning piano version of his ever-popular ballet, ‘The Firebird’.

About Yu Kosuge

To find out more about Yu Kosuge, please visit www.yu-kosuge.com (opens in a new tab).

What Others Are Saying

“Kosuge's interpretation was equal parts emotional and cerebral. Fleeting moments of crystalline textures and pastoral hues gave way to bold, tempestuous waves.” (Washington Post)

Ticket Prices
Adults £15 - buy online
Adult accompanying child under 12 £7
Members of Biggar Music £7
School pupils FREE
Students under 25 in full-time education FREE

EMS logo

This concert is subsidised by Enterprise Music Scotland through funding provided by Creative Scotland.